gfxgfx

logo

gfx gfx
gfx
975495 Posts in 138922 Topics by 6343 Members - Latest Member: dan-dare March 28, 2024, 10:30 AM
gfx* Home | Portal | Forum | Merchandise | Help | Login | Register | gfx
gfx
RADBMX.CO.UK  |  Old School BMX 1980 - 1988  |  Old School Race (riders ready, pedals ready... GO!!)  |  1983 Robinson Expert
gfx
gfxgfx

Author Topic: 1983 Robinson Expert  (Read 4204 times)

Offline anthony

• Curb Endo
  • Rated:
1983 Robinson Expert
« on: December 15, 2017, 11:50 AM »
Hi all,

I picked up this frame, forks and bars around 4 or 5 months ago and went about finding the parts for them across the internet. It's my first build so I was a bit worried about getting the types of parts right (being a race bike), and I don't really know what the original spec of these was.

I picked up most of the remaining parts from Alan's (a bit pissed they sold out of the profile box cranks  :'( ), and on Wednesday I took the day off to go up there and buy the remaining parts and basically get it finished off and ready to ride for Saturday's Santa Cruise.

With pads

Without pads (now with dia-compe clips in red)

Instagram link to Alan's BMX page for a few (better) photos

https://www.instagram.com/p/BcpGq84FRh1/

I did make a mistake when I took the bike up there, I put the front brake on the rear, so Tom put a spacer in there to make it work. I'll change it after Saturday. In the future i'll take it apart and get it all restored and polished but for now I just want to ride it.

Spec:

1983 Robinson Expert frame and forks
Robinson bars
Ukai rims, Suzue hubs, comp 3s
S&M straight seat post, Kashimax aero red seat
Haro group 1 vintage stem in white (the red was too light to match any of the other parts)
Sugino 44T chainring, sugino bolts
DID chain
MX 1000 brakes in red
MX 1500 2-bolt seat clamp in red
ODI mushroom II grips red/white
Haro fusion DX pedals in red
Mirage single pinch 3-piece crank
Profile vintage American bottom bracket