gfxgfx

logo

gfx gfx
gfx
975601 Posts in 138926 Topics by 6348 Members - Latest Member: Dannygee June 10, 2024, 08:44 AM
gfx* Home | Portal | Forum | Merchandise | Help | Login | Register | gfx
gfx
RADBMX.CO.UK  |  Technical & Reference Section  |  Tech and Restoration  |  I need some help!!!!!!!!!!!!
gfx
gfxgfx

Author Topic: I need some help!!!!!!!!!!!!  (Read 541 times)

wadagangker

I need some help!!!!!!!!!!!!
« on: March 10, 2008, 03:30 PM »
I am new to the whole "building a bmx from nothing but a frame" thing, so i need a bit of advice!! will any type of forks, fit on any type of bmx? the same question but in regards to handlebar stem. how about pedals, cause i need to buy a whole pedal system as at the moment there is just a hole there!! what about cranks? do i have to buy specific cranks for each specific bike and if so, what do i do if i dont know what the bike is? I know i probably sound thick but like i said im new to the building bmx thing. spraying them i can do!! puting them together, not so easy!!  :wtf: :idiot2:

perry

Re: I need some help!!!!!!!!!!!!
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2008, 04:17 PM »
where to start  :2funny:

in the simplest term

there are 2 types ( ok 3 but well stick to 2 for now ) of headtube ( the vertical tube at the front ) 1 inch which will require inch threaded forks and 1" 1/8 that is threadless

the length of the fork isnt a great concern , nor is the rake/trail/offset

just make sure you have 20" and not 24" lol

whak kind of bmx is it ?

if its old its very likely to be a 1 inch , easy way to spot the forks you need is by the threaded part at the top , headset is 1" , itl have 2 cups that get pressed into the frame , 2 caged bearings , a crown race that gets knocked onto the fork , a threaded race for the top ( sometimes knurled ) a spacer and lastly a locknut

the stem for 1" is a "quill" or "gooseneck" distinguisable by its long shaft , any will do they all bend eventually  :2funny: